We use cookies to give you the best online experience. Please let us know if you agree to all of these cookies.


Meet the Team: Mel

06 Dec 2023 |

By Sophia Voce

Mel Blue

Continuing our Meet the VWA Team series, let's hear from Resource Consultant, Mel!

What is your role at VWA and how long have you been part of this awesome team?

I have been at VWA (with a couple of breaks!) since 1997 when I joined as a Trainee Permanent Consultant. I worked my way up to Permanent Consultant and held this role for 8 years before leaving London to have my family. I returned in 2014 as a part-time Resource Consultant.

Can you please briefly describe a day in the life of a Resource Consultant?

My day starts with checking in with the consultants to find out what their priorities/needs are & any new roles that have come on. This might also include writing adverts that will be posted on specific platforms.

I then go through ad response & respond accordingly. I search the various platforms for suitable candidates & then reach out to them either via a phone call or email where we will have an initial introductory chat. I then set up a Teams/Zoom or telephone call to carry out a full registration which involves carrying out a competency-based interview with them. I then update our database, writing a candidate profile and publishing the candidate’s CV.

What is your favourite thing about your job?

When a candidate I have sourced gets placed in their dream job!

What is your least favourite thing about your job? Careful ha ha!

Probably when you have a great candidate for a specific role & the client changes the goal posts or puts the job on hold!

What were you doing before you joined VWA?

I graduated & worked in advertising as a PA to earn money to fund a year out. I did a ski season & then went travelling before joining VWA.

That’s enough of the work questions. Let’s find out more about the non-working you!

Do you have a favourite restaurant in London?

Cicchetti – Venetian style tapas & the most amazing Zucchine fritte!

Can you please describe your perfect Sunday?

A lazy morning in my pj’s drinking coffee & not having to drop the kids anywhere. Followed by a roast lunch (with plenty of Yorkshire puddings), long walk & family film.

Which is your favourite season and why?

Spring – feeling of new beginnings, longer days & warmer weather with summer just around the corner…

Dog? Cat? Neither?

Definitely a dog. I grew up with Labradors & got Mango (a yellow lab) when my son Max turned 1. Not the easiest time to get a puppy but I wouldn’t have changed a thing. She is 16 & still going strong!

If you could jump on a plane to anywhere in the world today, where would you go?

Thailand – I travelled there in my gap year & loved everything about the country

Do you have any special talents?

Sadly not!

What is your favourite cocktail/mocktail?

An Espresso Martini - yum

Do you have a favourite movie?

Pretty Woman – a classic!

Do you have any hobbies?

Tennis & paddleboarding. I got into paddleboarding during the pandemic & love it, it also helps that I live near a river!

What was the last TV box set you binged on?


Do you have anything you’d like to learn? For example DJ’ing or a musical instrument? Line-dancing?!

I wish I was better at languages; it would be so handy when I am abroad!

Finally, do you have a fun fact that might surprise us about you?

I was picked out of a fancy dress competition for first place by Michael Caine, I was 9 years old!

IMG 5643

Get in touch

Get in touch to find out more about our vacancies, roles or how we can help bring the best talent to your business.

Apply for jobs